Basseterre, St. Kitts, May 13, 2016, 2015 (RSCNPF): Twenty five officers of the Royal St. Christopher and Nevis Police Force were recognized in an awards ceremony on Thursday (May 12) for “Long Service and Good Conduct.”

13179000_1025899634163343_3816970308480712991_nThe ceremony held at Government House in Springfield under the patronage of the Governor General, His Excellency Sir S. W. Tapley Seaton was attended by the Prime Minister and Minister with responsibility for National Security, Dr. The Honourable Timothy Harris, other members of the Cabinet, Senior Government Officials, Gazetted and other Officers of the Police Service.

Commissioner of Police, Mr. Ian Queeley told the gathered officers and guest that, “recognition and awards are critical to the morale of an organization, whether it be today’s Police service or a private company in Basseterre or Charlestown.” He added, “recognizing the work of the team, through a systematic program is critical to the morale of the organization. It sends a strong message that your work and your service is appreciated. And so, as we continue the transformation process of the police service, guided by the police strategic plan and the police service improvement plan, one of the critical elements is the focus on our human resources. Our people. And in focusing on our people, we will make a concerted effort to recognize and award you, our officers for your work…Your outstanding work. ”

In acknowledging the awardees he said, “in our midst are twenty five (25) of the finest police officers anywhere in the world, today we salute our police officers, past and present, officers who came forward and answered a call to serve our great federation of St. Kitts and Nevis”.

He added, “these officers are being recognized for eighteen years of service and good conduct. They will come forward and have pinned on their chest, a medal, ‘The Police Long Service and Good Conduct Medal’.

13174045_1025904127496227_1956439046866879282_nCommissioner Queeely noted, “each of these officers would have served a minimum of eighteen years in the police service,” and underscored that by saying, “eighteen years of giving to our nation. Eighteen years of answering a nation’s call of maintaining security and citizen safety. Security and citizen safety that has enabled St. Kitts and Nevis to develop into an attractive destination for tourism, investors and students.” The sacrifices faced were also acknowledged.

“Eighteen years of missing family events because of duty. Eighteen years of leaving the comfort of home to serve and protect while others sleep. This medal is recognition for more than just time in service. It is also recognition for sacrifice. Sacrifice of years given to a nation,” he told the awardees and the gathering.

The medal also recognized the officers for their years of good service. Commissioner Queeley told the gathering, “this medal also exemplifies that these are men of honour, for doing the right thing and each of these officers have records that are of the highest standards.” He stressed, “their records are testament to their courage of doing the right thing. Doing the right thing every day, in and out of uniform.” …. “you performance clearly shows that without compromise or prejudice they have served with honour,” he told the officers.

The officers recognized at the ceremony were Gazetted officers, ACP Andre Mitchell, Supt. Cromwell Henry, Supt. Lionel Moore, Supt Adolph Adams, Insp. Travis Rogers, Insp. Phillip Eddy and Mr. Vaughan Henderson. Sergeants recognized were Sgts. Mitchell Hobson, Reynold Myers, James Stephen, Sean John, W/Sgt Lyndita Powell, Calvin Amory, Ricardo Sampson, Edwards Drew, Denzil Pemberton, W/Sgt Shorna Francis-Edwards and Daniel Jacobs (Sgt Ret). Corporals awarded were Cpls. Simeon Liburd, Matthew McGuire,, Elvin Browne, Dexter Jacobs, W/Cpl Alecia Maloney and Cpl Winston Thompson. A Posthumous award was presented to the family of Sgt. Junior Francis.

The award ceremony is another of the many avenues of recognition in the Police Service, in April twelve officers were recognized for outstanding performance at the first Commissioner’s quarterly luncheon.

Leave a comment

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)