Shelda Webster and Shelisia Glasford of St Kitts& Nevis receive tourism hospitality scholarships

ST KITTS, November 10, 2021 – Two St Kitts and Nevis nationals have received scholarships under the Caribbean hospitality professionals programs launched by the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association Education Foundation (CHTAEF) and Les Roches. Shelda Webster of Timothy Beach Resort and Shelisia Glasford of Park Hyatt St Kitts have being named among two dozen Caribbean scholarship recipients. Designed to accelerate the trajectory of participants’ hospitality careers, the program attracted more than 150 applicants over the summer.Eleven candidates received a joint scholarship, which covers more than 75 percent of the program cost, and Les Roches offered a 50 percent bursary to an additional 13 candidates whose qualifications and potential could not be overlooked by the evaluation committee.Candidates were selected from across the Caribbean and include hospitality professionals from both independent hotels and globally recognized branded hotels.Scholarship recipients hail from Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, The Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Guyana, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, Trinidad & Tobago, and Turks & Caicos.“The support of CHTA member hoteliers, who have encouraged their staff to apply to this executive postgraduate online program, demonstrates a strong commitment to quality tourism and excellence in the region,” said Carlos Diez de la Lastra Buigues, Managing Director of Les Roches Marbella.Atlantis Paradise Island in The Bahamas and St. Lucia’s Ladera Resort and Bay Gardens Resorts will add to the roster of scholars by supporting additional candidates for the program in the future, while Sandals Foundation has committed a US$10,000 donation toward the overall sustainability of the program, supporting some of the most deserving candidates across the region’s hospitality sector.Karolin Troubetzkoy, Chair of CHTAEF, said the Foundation was delighted to live up to its mission to improve and elevate the quality of tourism professionals through education and training. “We need to make serious investments in the future leaders of our region, while ensuring that the Caribbean is known as a center of excellence in one of the largest industries in the world. And we are off to a great start with Les Roches and our region’s finest hotels and resorts,” she stated.The full list of scholars, their nationalities and their company affiliations follows:CHTAEF/LES ROCHES PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM WINNERS

Anguilla: Jameel Rochester, Anguilla Tourist BoardAntigua & Barbuda: Kafi Samuels, Sandals Grande AntiguaAruba: Mitchell Goeldjar, Bucuti & Tara Beach ResortThe Bahamas: Dorothy Deveaux, Atlantis Paradise IslandBermuda: Kaven Gibbons, Rosewood BermudaGuyana: Gavin O’Brien, Cara HotelsJamaica: Stephen Fagan, Sandals Resorts InternationalSt. Kitts & Nevis: Shelda Webster, Timothy Beach ResortSt. Lucia: Yvette Henry, Ladera ResortSt. Lucia: Lucia Poleon, Ti Kaye Resort & SpaTrinidad & Tobago: Curtis Lee, Beaches ResortsLES ROCHES BURSARY WINNERSAntigua & Barbuda: Rachel Browne, Hermitage BayThe Bahamas: Bradley Babbs, Atlantis Paradise IslandBarbados: Shari Best, Mount Irvine Bay ResortBarbados & Trinidad: Rehana Dorsett, Atlantis Paradise IslandJamaica: Noshane King, Norwegian Cruise LinePuerto Rico: Sonya Marrero, Ladera ResortSt. Kitts & Nevis: Shelisia Glasford, Park Hyatt St. KittsSt. Lucia: Richie Marcellin, Ladera ResortSt. Lucia: Unice Calixte, Bay Gardens ResortsTrinidad & Tobago: Julia Harripaul, Canouan Estate Resort & VillasTrinidad & Tobago: Alaina Francois, Cara HotelsTrinidad & Tobago: Jessyka Gabriel, Mondrian DohaTurks & Caicos: Karen King, Point Grace Resort

Leave a comment

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)