PM Harris Announces 9 National Honors Awardees

St.Pauls, St.Kitts (September 16th 2015):- On Saturday, September 19, citizens of St. Kitts and Nevis will celebrate the Federation’s 32nd Anniversary of Independence under the theme, “United in Building a Stronger Nation” .
The country paid homage to its patriots on National Heroes‘ Day Wednesday , September 16 a public holiday. The National Heroes are : Former Premier, the Right Excellent Sir Robert L. Bradshaw, who was bestowed the title of Knight Commander of the Order of the National Hero in 1996; in 2004 the Right Excellent Sir Joseph N. France and Sir Caleb Azariah Paul Southwell were also elevated to the post. In 2013 the First Premier of Nevis the Right Excellent Dr. Sir Simeon Daniel was similarly elevated to the status of National Hero .
In an address to the Nation on Heroes Day 2015 the Prime Minister Dr. Hon Timothy Harris made the following statement in announcing the 2015 National Honours Awardees

“A country and its people require its heroes not only to provide the exemplars for the society but as a constant reminder of the values, virtues, the quality of work and vision, that made our nation great.
It is right that we honour our Heroes who have contributed so meaningfully to our National development. We invite your suggestions and ideas as to how we can achieve this worthy goal of honoring our Heroes.
Greatness is designated on a few, yet everyday unsung heroes arise. Today, we give recognition and honor to some of our citizens and residents who have served our country faithfully and well.
My fellow citizens and residents, His Excellency the Governor General in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister and with the recommendation of the National Awards Committee has approved the following National Honours Awards for 2015

Star of Merit
• Mr Washington Archibald, contribution in education
• Mr Richard L. Caines J.P., contribution in business
• Mrs Marjorie Morton, contribution in public service









2. The Medal of Honour
• Mrs Sylvia Garnette, contribution in nursing and healthcare
• Mr Ivan Hanley, contribution in law enforcement
• Mr Theodore Hobson Q.C., contribution in law
• Mr Winston Skeete contribution in sea transportation
• Mr Maurice Widdowson, contribution in heritage and conservation
• Mr James Hanley, contribution in sports and community service


ted-hobson-001 ivan-hanley james-hanley-001

I congratulate all of these our fellow citizens whose respective outstanding contributions in the fields of business, nursing, law, nautical matters, heritage matters, law enforcement, governance and sport are being recognized and acknowledged.

Let their spirit of enterprise, achievement and commitment inspire us to do likewise and in our several capacities as fellow citizens, we must do our part in nation building. May God continue to bless our people and country.
A Happy National Heroes Day to all!”

Leave a comment

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)