Former Prime Minister Dr Hon. Timothy Harris congratulates new PM Dr Terrance Drew

Former Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis the Hon. Dr. Timothy Harris has congratulated the new Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis Hon. Dr. Terrance Drew, who was sworn into office on August 6, after his St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party’s resounding victory at the polls on August 5, 2022.

The St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party won a majority of six of the eight seats on St. Kitts.

“Now that the Supervisor of Elections, Mr. Elvin Bailey, has announced the official results of the General Elections held yesterday, Friday, August 5, 2022, I take this opportunity to congratulate the St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party on their victory at the polls, in which they captured six (6) of the eight (8) seats on St. Kitts,” Dr. Harris, Leader of the People’s Labour Party (PLP) said in a statement.

“In particular, I congratulate Prime Minister-elect, Dr. Terrance Drew of the St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party and extend best wishes to him on his new journey of leadership of our beloved Federation. I congratulate, as well, all the other successful candidates in the General Elections and wish them the very best,” Dr. Harris said.

Dr. Harris thanked his other seven candidates of the PLP who were unsuccessful in the General Elections. He also thanked the people of his constituency, St. Christopher 7 for returning him to parliament.

“Finally, I wish to express my gratitude to the members, supporters, and well-wishers of the People’s Labour Party and appeal to you to accept the results of the General Elections. Our Country must now move on in a manner that ensures that the will of the people is preserved,” said Dr. Harris.

The St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party(SKNLP) won the Federal General Elections in St. Kitts and Nevis held on August 5, 2022, by taking six of the 11 seats that were contested.

Dr. Drew was declared the winner in Constituency #8 taking 2,950 votes gathering 60.2 % of the votes cast; Dr. Denzil Douglas won in Constituency #6 with 1926 votes compiling 82.2 % of votes cast; Konris Maynard was announced the winner in Constituency #3 with 1, 747 votes, amassing 64.8 % of the votes cast; Marsha Henderson won in Constituency #2 with 1841 votes picking-up 57.3 % of votes cast; Dr. Geoffrey Hanley emerged victorious in Constituency #1 with 1997 votes, totalling 60 % of votes cast and Samal Duggins triumphed in Constituency #4 with 1269 votes accumulating 54.1% of votes cast.

The other two constituencies that were contested in St. Kitts were numbers 7 and 5 respectively, which were won by Dr. Timothy Harris, Leader of the People’s Labour Party, and Shawn Richards, Leader of the People’s Action Movement. Dr. Harris won his seat with 1266 votes and 53.6 % of the votes cast. Mr. Richards on the other hand came out on top with 1025 votes with 48.7 % of votes cast.

On the sister island of Nevis, the three seats that were contested were swept clean by the Concerned Citizens Movement guided by its leader Mark Brantley. Mr. Brantley won in Constituency #9 with 1685 votes amassing 55 % of the votes cast; Eric Evelyn emerged triumphant with 616 votes totalling 69.8 % of votes cast and Alexis Jeffers of Nevis #10 finished with 1172 votes with 50.1 percent of votes cast.

Dr. Terrance Michael Drew was officially sworn in on Saturday, August 6, 2022, as the fourth Prime Minister of the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis by His Excellency Sir S.W. Tapley Seaton, Governor-General, during a ceremony at Government House.

The Elections were observed by the Organization of American States (OAS), CARICOM and a local NGO coalition.

Leave a comment

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)