CARICOM and Cuba Seek an Agreement to Expand Market Access

SAN JUAN – Representatives from the Caribbean Community and the Cuban government will meet on Tuesday in Havana to conclude negotiations on market access.

The aim is to “expand preferential access to their respective goods markets beyond what is currently provided under the Trade and Economic Cooperation Agreement” signed in 2000, CARICOM said Monday in a statement.

The two-day meeting will follow up on the mandate agreed at the December 2014 CARICOM-Cuba Summit with the goal of improving trade and economic cooperation.

CARICOM was founded in 1973 and the regional grouping’s first summit with Cuba was held in 2002.

CARICOM comprises Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.

Leave a comment

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)