Caribbean Electric Utility Services Corporation (CARILEC) Elects New Executive

On Tuesday, May 17th, the Twenty Eighth Annual General Meeting of the Caribbean Electric Utility Services Corporation (CARILEC) was held at the Marriott Beach Resort in Grand Cayman.

The proceedings coincided with the 50th Anniversary of the Caribbean Utilities Company Ltd (CUC), and included a welcome address by Mr Richard Hew, President & CEO of CUC.

At the meeting, Directors were elected to replace those who had resigned or whose term had expired.

Directors whose term had expired were elected to renew their positions, and two additional directors were elected to serve on the board: Bertilia Le Blanc- McKenzie, General Manager of Dominica Electricity Services Ltd (DOMLEC) and Franklin A. Hoevertsz, Managing Director of Utilities Aruba.

At the previously held Associate Member Caucus, Mr Gianni Moreno was appointed as Associate Member representative on the CARILEC Board, and Mr Edmund Phillip as Alternate Associate Member Representative.

Following the meeting, Directors elected Grenada Electricity Services Ltd (GRENLEC) Chief Executive Officer, Mr Collin Cover to serve as Chairman of the CARILEC Board for the 2016-2018 term. Mr. Cover is an accomplished energy professional with over 35 years’ industry experience.

He also served as Vice Chairman of the CARILEC board from 2015-2016.

The Annual General Meeting was held during CARILEC’s 2016 CEO and Finance Conference Grand Cayman, themed “Power. People Partnerships” and was co-hosted by the Caribbean Utilities Company (CUC).

CARILEC, is an association of electric utilities, suppliers, manufacturers and other stakeholders operating within the electricity industry throughout the Caribbean.

CARILEC Board of Directors:
Collin Cover, Grenada Electricity Services Ltd. – Chairman Jeffrey Locke, Belize Electricity Ltd. – Vice Chairman Peter Williams, Barbados Light and Power Company Ltd. Trevor Louisy, St. Lucia Electricity Services Ltd. Thornley Myers, St. Vincent Electricity Services, Ltd. Walter Higgins, Bermuda Electric Light Co. Eddinton Powell, Fortis TCI Ltd. (Turks & Caicos) Leroy Abraham, BVI Electricity Corp. Kevin Basden, Bahamas Electricity Corp. Cartwright Farrell, St. Kitts Electricity Co., Ltd. Kelly Tomlin, Jamaica Public Services Ltd. Bertilia Le Blanc-McKenzie, Dominica Electricity Services Ltd. Courtenay Mark, Trinidad & Tobago Electricity Commission Thomas Hodge – CARILEC Executive Director Gianni Moreno, ABB Power Products and Power Systems Edmund Philips, Wartsila

Leave a comment

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)