St.Kitts-Nevis Defence Board Meets To Discuss Important Matters Of The Defence Force

Basseterre, St. Kitts, January 22, 2016 (SKNIS): Commander of the St. Kitts-Nevis Defence Force (SKNDF), Lieutenant Colonel Patrick Wallace, has welcomed the first meeting of the Defence Board (which had not met for several years) under the Government of National Unity, which was held on January 21 at the Defence Force Headquarters at Springfield, Basseterre.

In attendance at the meeting were Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable Timothy Harris, Attorney General, the Honourable Vincent Byron Jr, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of National Security, Mr. Osmond Petty, and the Commander of the SKNDF.

Some of the matters discussed by the Board were the functions of the Defence Board, List of current SKNDF/Coast Guard officers and enlisted ranks (2015 vs 2014); promotions policy and procedures; human resource matters; and a number of personal matters that are up for review by the Board.

According to Mr. Osmond Petty, the Defence Board is a requirement of the St. Christopher and Nevis Defence Force Act, Chapter 19.14 of the revised laws of St. Christopher and Nevis. The revised date of the Act is December 2009.

Mr. Petty outlined that the Defence Board consists of the Prime Minister, who is the chairperson; a minister of Cabinet appointed by the prime minister; the Commanding Officer of the Defence Force; and the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of National Security, who is by law the Secretary of the Defence Board.

The primary function of the Board is to provide support in the running of the SKNDF, which comprises of the Infantry and the Coast Guard. The Board has oversight for all the activities of the SKNDF.

– See more at:

Leave a comment

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)