St. Kitts Celebrates Tourism Product

BASSETERRE (25TH May, 2016): St. Kitts honoured winners of various awards in the 2016 St. Kitts Tourism Experience Awards, which took place on Saturday 21st May at the Carambola Beach Club.

The St. Kitts Tourism Experience Awards is the tourism industry’s most anticipated event. The event celebrated and recognized individuals and organizations for their outstanding contributions in making St. Kitts a premier tourist destination.  The Tourism Awards also encourages the continual raising of standards and reinforces the value of the tourism industry.

Minister of Tourism The Hon. Lindsay Grant presents the Minister’s Award to Diannille Taylor-Williams, who is the Assistant Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism.
Ten awards were distributed to various stakeholders, including a new award called The Minister’s Award of Excellence, which recognizes an individual employed by the St. Kitts Tourism Authority or the Ministry of Tourism who has contributed positively to the development of the Tourism Industry, and displays the characteristics of an individual who is true to the motto “ Country Above Self.” The winner of the that award was Mrs. Diannille Taylor- Williams, the Assistant Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism.

In his featured speech at the awards ceremony, Minister of Tourism, International Trade and Commerce, The Hon. Lindsay Grant, said stakeholders must continually strive to improve upon the experience they provide, as competitive destinations around the world are all striving to do the same.

“It is important to acknowledge that it is our responsibility to train and develop our young people, who are our greatest resources and the future of our tourism industry,” Minister Grant said.  “All of this emphasis on training will ensure that we are able to provide world-class customer service wherein we are anticipating the needs of our guests and not only meeting but exceeding their expectations.”

To that end, Minister Grant pointed out that the Ministry of Tourism and the St. Kitts Tourism Authority are reorganizing Port Zante to streamline passenger flow and improve upon the ground handling systems.

Winner of the People’s Choice Award, Gregory Degrasse (center), recieving his award from the Chairman of the Board of the St. Kitts Tourism Authority, Nick Menon and the CEO of the St. Kitts Tourism Authority, Racquel Brown.
In addition, the Ministry of Tourism has implemented licensing, standards and regulations in the tourism sector in accordance with the Prescribed Areas Act.  Also, training for the ground transportation sector has been completed, which includes taxi and tour bus operators with over 300 taxi operators having attended the refresher training last year.

Training has also been completed for the various vendors from Primate to Massage and Aloe Rub to Craft.  This year, training efforts for additional subsectors such as watersports and work to establish a School of Excellence in hospitality where our youth in particular can acquire the skills they will need to compete in an ever changing world, will continue.

“We will also be embarking on a National Campaign for the entire tourism industry and related persons in the basics of Customer Service.  It is important we ensure at the minimum level that all involved in tourism are demonstrating Pride and Excellence,” Grant said.

Winner of the Kittitian Experience Award, Sprat Net

Winner of the Achievement of Excellence Award, Caribelle Batik.

Winner of the Achievement of Excellence, O’Niel Mulraine.

Employee of the Year, Mary Pemberton.
Winner of the Sustainable Tourism Award, The St. Kitts Eco Park

Winner of the Pillar of the Industry Award, Larry Armony.

Winner of the Pillar of the Industry Award, Delisle Walwyn & CO LTD.

Leave a comment

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)