Dr. Simeon Daniel Officially Invested as a National Hero- Sylvia Manning, Clement Williams, Dawud Byron, and Dr. Milton Whittaker Among Independence National Awardees.

Former Premier of Nevis the Late Dr. The Hon. Simeon Daniel was today officially named and confirmed as the country of St.Kitts-Nevis’ 4th National Hero.  In an investiture ceremony held this morning at Government House, Ag Governor-General Tapley Seaton QC officially presented the Order of National Hero  to Sir Simeon Daniel for his contribution to Politics and Law. The Widow of the late Premier Lady Sheila Daniel was on hand to accept the posthumous award  on behalf of her late husband .

Although Daniel was announced as a National Hero in 2013 he or his family was never bestowed with the official instruments which made him such.

Sir Simeon joins three other persons designated National Heroes – Former Premier and The Right Excellent Sir Robert Llewellyn Bradshaw, former Premier, The Right Excellent Sir C. A. Paul Southwell and former Trade Union and Parliamentarian, The Right Excellent Sir Joseph Nathaniel France.

Along with Sir Simeon some eight citizens of St. Kitts and Nevis were officially recognized as National Honours Award recipients for their contributions to the development of the twin-island Federation.

Sylvia Manning was given a Queens Honor and bestowed with the Medal of the British Empire MBE for her contribution to Public Health. Lorna Richards was also similarly awarded  with the MBE for her contribution to Public Service .

Local Honors  the Companion of the Star of Merit (CSM) was bestowed on Leonie James, a retired educator, for her work in Early Childhood Development and Community Service. Dr. Milton Whittaker and Clement “Bouncin” Williams were similarly awarded for their contribution to Education and Science. Williams was further recognized for his contribution to Culture

Venetta Henry, a retired nurse and family planning coordinator, also received the  Medal of Honour for service in nursing and Dawud Byron was awarded a Medal of Honour for his contributions in journalism. Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism Mrs Carlene Henry-Morton received the award on behalf of her Mother Nurse Henry .

Some of the awardess were announced in 2014 but were never officially honoured and presented with their recongnition and instruments of award in a ceremony as was staged and hosted today at the Government House.

The awardees and their families were all  visibly elated and humbled by the recognition by the government and people of the federation.

The investitutre ceremony was attended by Members of Cabinet including Prime Minister Dr. The Hon Timothy Harris, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Deputy Premier of Nevis Hon. Mark Brantley as well as Cabinet Secretary Josephine Huggins among high ranking and senior government officials in addition to family and friends of the awardees.

Leave a comment

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)