BVI Gov’t Restructured; New Portfolios Added

Get our headlines on WHATSAPP: 1) Save +1 (869) 665-9125 to your contact list. 2) Send a WhatsApp message to that number so we can add you 3) Send your news, photos/videos to

Ahreefa Bacchus, Journalist | February 27, 2019 3:56 pm AST | 0 Comment

The Virgin Islands Party (VIP) will be restructuring the Government as it relates to the various ministries.

BVI Platinum News was able to confirm this with reliable sources, who indicated that the existing five ministries are up for a major shake-up, which will see additional portfolios being added.

Premier, the Honourable Andrew Fahie will lead the Ministry of Finance and Tourism, while At-Large Representative, Hon. Shereen Flax-Charles will hold the post of Junior Minister of Tourism.

At this point, it is unclear who will take the post of Deputy Premier.

At-Large Representative, Hon. Neville ‘Sheep’ Smith will be taking the position of Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly (HoA).

Territorial Representative, Hon. Carvin Malone will be at the helm of the Ministry of Telecommunications, Health and Welfare, while the Ministry of Natural Resources, Labour and Immigration will be led by Hon. Vincent Wheatley.

Fifth District Representative, Hon. Kye Rymer will be the Minister of Transportation, Works and Utilities.

The two youngest of the representatives, who are educators by profession, will have oversight of Education and Youth Affairs. New Seventh District Representative, Hon. Dr. Natalio ‘Sowande Uhuru’ Wheatley will be the Minister of Education, Culture, Agriculture, Fisheries, Sports, and Youth Affairs. Meanwhile, At-Large Representative, Hon. Sharie de Castro will hold the portfolio of Junior Minister of Education and Culture.

This publication will provide more information as it becomes available.

Leave a comment

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)