LONDON, Great Britain – Former world 100m champion Kim Collins has thrown his hat in the ring for a position on the IAAF Athletes Commission.


“Motivating the young people and coaching” were just two of the things Collins told back in May that he would want to focus on after competitive track and field.

Collins said if elected that “would put him on the path of helping other upcoming athletes, because there are a lot of issues some of us face that really don’t have to be that way.”

Collins, in 2003 won the World 100m title. He represented his country at the Summer Olympics on six occasions, from 1996 to 2016. He has also competed at eight consecutive editions of the World Championships, beginning in 1997 and up to 2011. He competed again in 2015 in Beijing.

From August 1 to 12 the elections for the 6 places in the IAAF Athletes Commission will be held. Participants at the World championships will vote. For six places 15 athletes are bidding, including Collins. The others are sprinter Angel David Rodriguez, steeple runner Habiba Ghribi, walker Inaki Gomez, former 400m hurdler Periklis Iakovakis, 800m runner Adam Kszczot, former hammer thrower Yipsi Moreno, shot putter Marco Fortes, current head of the commission and former high jumper Rozle Prezelj, javelin thrower Thomas Rohler, triple jumper Olha Saladukha, long jumper Ivana Spanovic, distance runner Benita Willis, high jumper Yu Wang and combined eventer Gyorgyi Zsivoczky-Farkas.

The six elected members of the Commission shall begin their mandate on 1 January 2018 until 31 December 2021.

They will replace from current IAAF Athletes Commission members Hussain Taher Al-Sabee, Tommi Evila, Habiba Ghribi (she candidates again), Jennifer Joyce, Rozle Prezelj (he also goes again) and Matej Toth as their mandate ends in 2017.

Other 13 members have the mandate until end of 2019. They are Anita Talay, Fabiana Murer, Mehdi Baala, Paula Radcliffe, Michael Frater, Koji Murofushi, Ezekiel Kemboi, Andreas Thorkildsen, Valerie Adams, Mutaz Essa Barshim, Yelena Isinbayeva, Christian Olsson and Dwight Phillips.